Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Another week of dancing.

Jake and Chelsie - Samba. The beginning seemed a bit slow. Jake looked pretty awkward and tripped over the steps next to the judges at one point but kept a good attitude and looked like he was having fun. I wasn't a big fan of that dance and even Mrs. Bachelor looked a bit disappointed when the camera showed her as the dance ended. Len mentioned that he lacked rhythm, which is pretty much what Bruno said when he mentioned that there was no bounce. I think that's why I was thinking he looked a little awkward. It's almost like Chelsie was trying to lift him with each step to make an appearance of bounce. [21 points]
Evan and Anna – Samba. Evan cracked his head while doing a flip and ended up with a mild concussion but ended up being fine and came out booty shaking just fine. The goofy smile on his face through the dance could not have been gayer. I don't think I've seen him have more fun in any of the other dances, so that's good. All in all he did really well. The criticism he got was more about technique, things that I didn't really notice. Some things looked a little odd, but I didn't know what it was until the judges started pointing it out. I thought it looked good, but Len even said it was his worst dance. [21 points]
Niecy and Louis – Argentine Tango. They decided to make their Tango humorous. No one has ever done that before and I loved it right from the beginning when Niecy ate a rose petal. Again, I was impressed with Louis' ability to make Niecy look like she weighs 100 lbs! Carrie Ann pointed out that the dance was great because Niecy was dancing. Len surprisingly loved the comedy and said that it didn't interfere with the dance at all. If anyone was going to have a problem with it, it would have been him and he loved it! I am beginning to see these guys in the finals. [21 points]
Erin and Maks – Samba. Erin is a self-professed over thinker. Maks wants her to just enjoy dancing without thinking so much. I hated Maks' shirt (good thing he got rid of it before the dance was over). Erin's feet looked really good and she looked like she was doing it right. Maks did not take Len's criticism very well and interrupted to get a crowd reaction. Len was the only judge who didn't like it, Carrie Ann even did a little dance to interpret the song she made up on the spot "you nailed it, you nailed it". Even though Erin's dress was obnoxious her hair and makeup looked so pretty this week. [25 points]
Ochocinco and Cheryl – Argentine Tango. The football players are always so entertaining. He is most entertaining in rehearsals. They definitely took advantage of their free lifts. I think I saw about 4 lifts and they all looked great. The dance was so good I really couldn't take my eyes off them. The judges loved it too and complimented him on his lines and his all over performance. Cheryl is a good teacher, she may be tough but she gets through. They got their highest score yet, but I'm surprised it wasn't even higher. [24 points]
Nicole and Derek – Samba. Nicole really wants to do the Salsa. Nicole naturally looks really good dancing but her face in the beginning was all nerves. The dance was great though after she loosened up. Carrie Ann and Bruno loved the dance but Len was very disappointed and made comments about them being too sexy and sloppy. Nicole is so good at taking criticism though, she genuinely looks like she's taking it everything in, and considering how she can be better. [27 points]
Pam and Damian – Argentine Tango. Pam's wig was so terrible. I really wish they'd quit making her hair look like a bird's nest. The Argentine Tango is already kind of jerky, but she seemed to not have the right kind of jerking. I might have liked it better if I wasn't so distracted by the big ratty wig sitting on top of her head. Pam's quick stop to give Donny Osmond a kiss was something I would have liked to have seen. [22 points]
The Swing Dance marathon is all 7 couples on stage at once, doing flips and lifts. A recipe for disaster. First out was Jake and Chelsie. Next Niecy and Louis get dropped, probably because of the lame laying on the floor move. Evan and Anna are the next to go. Chad and Cheryl are fourth but as I was watching I couldn't believe that Pam and Damian were still there, every step they showed were terrible and sure enough, the next to go. Erin and Maks were the last eliminated, leaving only Nicole and Derek!

Movie Week DWTS

Niecy and Louie did the Jive and even though I thought it was a little slow in the beginning, it seemed to pick up pretty good and Niecy did a great job. She’s a little heavy so it still wasn’t the best Jive but I liked it. Best judge comment: “there was a bounce in your bazookas”. Carrie Ann called her the “Shimmy Queen”, never having anyone shimmy quite like that.


Cheryl and Ochocinco are a very cute and he deals with her tough teaching the best I’ve seen anyone do with her. Probably because he’s a football player, he’s used to having a tough coach. I don’t know what it is, but it works. I thought his foot work was great, but his arms were a little sloppy. The judges pretty much said the same. What I thought was funny was when Carrie Ann made a comment about body contact, Ochocinco said they have plenty of body contact. Hmmmm. Although then while waiting for scores he said that their relationship is strictly professional – cue weird look from Cheryl.

Maks and Erin seemed to be at each other’s throats in rehearsals but I think this week was her best dance so far. Erin didn’t look very happy about it when it was over but the judges said some good things.

Jake and Chelsie did a half naked Cha Cha. The dance was terrible. He missed steps all over the place, but he tried his best. It was a fun and exciting dance, his personality is great but the steps are a challenge for him. Brooke said he deserved to be scored on bravery. I think he was the first guy to ever dance in his underwear on the stage.

Pamela’s dress was so cute. The dance was good too, but I think I might have missed a lot of it being distracted by the dress. They did do a great move where they danced up onto a chair, to the table down onto the other chair and kept going. That was pretty cool. The judges seemed to like it, except Len who seemed irritated with how much time they spent with props when they should have been dancing.

Kate is so rude to Tony. He’s the pro, yet she criticizes his choreography. She pretty much looked scared and confused through most of the dance. I feel like she’s always going slower than the beat of the music, does Tony have to do that for her because she can’t get the steps otherwise? The dance was bad. Hard to watch. She said she had fun, her face said otherwise. According to Bruno, Tony would have had more fun with a coat hanger.

Nicole got to go on a shopping spree to get ready for her dance. That’s a great rehearsal, If you ask me. It must have worked because I thought her dance was great. The dance was full of great moves, kicks, and attitude. They even got a standing ovation. Bruno was so excited about it that he shook Len. I’m really surprised they didn’t get a perfect score, but they were only one point shy of getting a perfect score so that’s pretty great!

Evan and Anna didn’t get much practice in this week but he still did pretty well. I didn’t see as much movie as the others but the dance was still good.

DWTS Double score showdown

This week they are getting 2 different scores, one for technique and one for performance.
First up are Erin and Maks. Erin had an injury in the week but was ready to take on the Tango. I didn’t think Len would be too thrilled about her using him as a prop, but it was just the opposite. I wasn’t a big fan of this dance but I couldn’t decide if it’s because of the dance or because they are doing the Tango to Sweet Dreams with her wearing a yucky red dress. Technical score of 18 and Performance score of 21.
I don’t know why but it always bugs me if the dancers sing along with the music while they dance. Anna and Evan did an upbeat Tango that was pretty good. I think Evan is still struggling with his feet but it seemed to be an improvement from last week. The judges agree that he’s improved from last week. Technical score of 26 and Performance score of 26. Looks like the judges liked that dance quite a bit! I’ll be curious to see how Evan keeps improving over the weeks.
Oh I forgot that Kym Johnson was missing from this season. I love her bubbly personality. It’s nice that they still bring pros on to do dances even when they are not paired with a star for the season.
Niecy and Louis are the first to do the rumba. They are dedicating the dance to Niecy’s brother who died 17 years ago. They had to practice while she was the set of Clean House so I’m sure it was hard to get it all down with so much else going on. I love how Louis makes Niecy look like she’s just as small as one of the other ladies. Niecy is getting better each week as well and I still would love to see her make it to finals. Len mentions that her arms look good which I noticed as well but he also says it was boring which I disagree. The judges think she was missing hip action. Technical score of 18 and Performance score of 18.
Aiden and Edyta win for the hottest couple. It’s funny that he’s shy about being sexy in front of people. He did a little better with his facial expression this week, he acted a bit happier to be there. Len pointed out something that I saw, which was that the steps didn’t have any flow; it was just one step after the other and kind of robot. Technical score of 15 and Performance score of 18.
Derek and Nicole are such goof balls. I don’t know how they get anything done in rehearsals. They did this great move where Nicole twisted in Derek’s arm that was pretty awesome. The dance in a whole was very beautiful and I didn’t see any of the mistakes that the judges did. They said that she was nervous and she agreed but they could’ve fooled me. Technical score of 25 and Performance score of 25.
I love that Chelsie tells Jake to give her 10 pushups because he said “I can’t do it”. Way to be a tough partner. The “wow” factor from them came when they took their dance steps up the stairs and then back down again and it was great! Jake was determined to do this Tango and his performance was great but he did have a couple missteps. Technical score of 19 and Performance score of 19.
I can’t imagine Kate getting any worse, she called this the “do or die week” which I think is right on. She could very well go home this week. The dance was an improvement from last week and the way they ended it was great, even though they broke the rules with a lift. Bruno even called it a “mini breakthrough” but still “the technique was very bad”. She looked like she has a good time with this dance and didn’t look quite as scared. Technical score of 14 and Performance score of 18. I think that’s their best score so far.
Chad and Cheryl had a great rehearsal week but she seemed harder on him that before if that’s possible. He does have great hip action and this dance was very good, Carrie Ann even said it was the best so far. Ochocinco was hot hot hot this week!!! I can’t decide if the ring is joke or not and if it’s not a joke then wow! And why is it on her left hand? Maybe I’m getting my wish. Technical score of 21 and Performance score of 23.
Pam tried harder this week it seemed like. I didn’t think the sexy look she gave him at the beginning was all that sexy but hey that’s just me. The dance was good, even great. Len called her “overdressed” ugh. He’s acting like a dirty old man this week. Technical score of 23 and Performance score of 24.

DWTS week 3

Oh wow, I just love Anna and Evan! Anna has such a classy look this week and Evan danced great too. I can’t really see them winning the competition but I wouldn’t be surprised at all if Evan and Anna end up in the finals.
Buzz and Ashley did so great in their storytelling this week. It was great to watch even if Buzz can’t dance. He’s old, how much do we expect from him. He’s adorable anyway. It’s like watching my grandpa dance and gives me a nostalgic feel. Jake and Chelsie’s jive was cute but I had a hard time not looking at Chelsie’s terrible wig. Jake is really surprising me at how well he’s doing. He’s another I expect to see in the finals. It’s pretty good that he’s done so great since his “star” status only comes from being The Bachelor and his day job is a pilot. Unless he’s doing line dancing up and down the aisles of the aircraft he flies, I really doubt he’s had much dance experience. Oh I so badly would love to see Niecy win this thing, just because she is such a joy to watch. I have never been a fan of Reno 911 but I’ve seen her on Clean House and I just love her personality. She’s normally so funny and not very serious at all but during the rehearsals she got emotional about the thought of not being able to be with her boyfriend if the law prohibited it, trying to put herself into character since their story was about a black woman and black man in a time when that was against the culture. I’m pretty sure Louis was relating the story to the fact that gay marriage is illegal by saying “I hear you, I’m still in that boat” after Niecy said she could not imagine not being able to be with someone you love because the law wouldn’t allow it or society wouldn’t allow it. Ok, first – not the same thing as a black woman not being able to be with a white man. But I’ll leave it at that. Also they had a lift, I saw it but Carrie Ann recognized that she stumbled trying to keep her feet on the ground, so she didn’t take a point off for that when it was obvious she’d already be docked for the stumble. Ochocinco is such a flirt. I love how cute him Cheryl are together. Is Cheryl married? If not they should have a love connection after the show is over…hm… It’s also a good thing that Ochocinco is nice to look at because he moves like a very tall lanky wooden log on the dance floor. His feet are slow but he’s getting better. It seems pretty common for the football players to do pretty well in the dance competition; maybe it’s something about them having to have good footwork for the game too. I love how Ochocinco is mouthing “call me” while Brooke is telling people to call in and vote. He had to keep up that flirty persona. PETA activist Pamela couldn’t dance the Paso Doble without throwing out there how she was against bull fighting. Pam, it’s just a dance. She actually looked great this week, moved well and thankfully left behind the over sexed vixen look. She’s dug herself out of the hole she was in I think and I am glad she did much better this week. Aiden and Edyta are doing quickstep which seems to me like the hardest dance because the moves are very fast and they have to practice it over and over, he even mentions that every time they practice the steps they have to do it at the same pace and it’s very tiring. It was nice that they show his family come in and have cake with him for his birthday and give him a break. Within the first 20 seconds of the dance Aiden was already looking really bad, his steps were completely out of sync with Edyta and it was a little hard to watch. The judges didn’t really mention it but I don’t know how they didn’t see it, they just mentioned that he has improved. Did I forget how terrible his dance was last week? Maksim looks a lot like Gerard Butler in PS I Love You these days. Not necessarily a bad thing. The waltz was great and I can’t believe she Erin was able to dance blind folded. She had to put a lot of trust in Maks. Len was kind of hard on them and the host came back at him by saying “apparently you weren’t the only one blindfolded” to Len. Kate is getting even with the paparazzi in the Paso Doble….fighting back by being terrible, making it harder for them to look directly at her. I can’t even go into detail about how I feel about it. Carrie Ann said that was “very strange” hahaha. Strange is the nice way to put it. I can’t believe people “booed” the 5’s the judges gave her. I would’ve given her a 3. I’m still standing by my thought that Nicole is going to win this thing. Her dance was great and Derek is the perfect dance partner for her. Len was terrible to her, saying that she didn’t do a quickstep. They got pretty much the same comments from Bruno and Carrie Ann, although Carrie Ann did say that when they take that show on the road she wants front row seats. I was surprised to see that they got a 9 from Bruno after he criticized them for breaking hold and not really doing a quick step. Some pros I’m missing this year are Karina Smirnoff, lacey Schwimmer and Julianne Hough. Please DWTS, bring them back next year!

Dancing With The Stars Week 2

Dancing with the stars is my favorite show. I look forward to it for months. This season’s line up:
Erin Andrews
Evan Lysacek
Jake Pavelka
Kate Gosselin
Nicole Scherzinger
Niecy Nash
Pamela Anderson
Shannen Doherty
Aiden Turner
Buzz Aldrin
Chad Ochocinco Niecy Nash was my favorite! I thought she moved great for a big girl and she’s got a great attitude. Nicole Scherzinger is going to win this thing! This isn’t so much a dance competition as it is just a showcase of one awesome dancers quest to the mirror ball trophy. I’ve always rooted for Pam in the past, giving her more credit than due. She’s just gross on the show this season. Kate Gosselin, “I don’t get it”. This is funny because she’s keeps running men off and still doesn’t see her part in it. Maybe it’s that she’s a complete pain in the ass and insists that since she’s not learning, it’s her teachers fault. Then her jive….as my friend Eric put it “watching Kate dance is like watching Weekend at Bernie's”. Did she really compare having a dance partner with a marriage? I guess she’s right in a sense, her marriage was a failure and so is her dancing. I’m really surprised that she got a better score than Buzz Aldrin. Cheryl and Ochocinco are way cute together, definitely doing well in the chemistry area. Seems like each year the football players do pretty well, I thought he was doing pretty good but Len didn’t think so, he said “it was like the snow, your just glad when it’s all over!”