Tuesday, May 25, 2010

The Finals

Erin and Maks Samba.  It was a little slow to start out with.  A lot of booty shaking.  Erin definitely seemed more confident and Maks kept his clothes on so it was pretty good. 
Evan and Anna Vienese Waltz.  I was wowed by Evan I think for the first time. That had to be his best dance yet and the chemistry was much better.   I like the little piano action at the end. 
Nichole and Derek Rumba.  She is so amazing; this dance was no exception to her amazing dancing.  She said she was just going to let go and feel the dance and it really looked like she was able to do that so well.  The way it ended was pretty awesome too; I don’t know how I could explain it so I hope you watched. 
Freestyles
                Erin and Maks.  Best combination of lifts and tricks that I have seen in the freestyle ever I think.  I loved their dance.  It was super sexy but tasteful.  Apparently that wasn’t the bed they rehearsed on according to Maks….hm.  Mandy Moore has great choreography.  I have seen a lot of her on So You Think You Can Dance. 
                Evan and Anna.  Surprisingly I thought Evan looked better and did a better job with the dance that Anna did.  Maybe that’s why she was not Their last lift was pretty awesome though. 
                Nichole and Derek.   That was not what I expected from them.  It was good but it seemed chaotic and the stumble in the end was unfortunate, it could have been a very cool lift. 
               
My favorite freestyle was Erin and Maks for sure.  I loved Derek and Nichole’s Rumba out of the first set though.  I’m excited to see what they do for their dances tomorrow and who takes the Mirror ball trophy.  

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Semi-finals.

Erin and Maks – The arch she made at the beginning of the first dance was so perfect.  She’s got such a great figure.  The dance was so elegant.  I loved it.  Bruno had a “premature paddle”, as Tom put it, holding up a “10” while he said “9”.  The second dance was so great! I loved it beginning to end, even with the fall. 
Nicole and Derek – The first dance, Nicole’s legs are so amazing and the Argentine Tango is all legs.  Derek was obviously in pain through rehearsals but didn’t show even a little trouble during the dance.  So even though the outfit she was wearing in the second dance was so ridiculous, trying to look like prince takes a lot of work. Hahaha.  It was such a fun dance and I was smiling and laughing through the whole thing. 
Chad and Cheryl –I don’t have a lot of comments about the first dance.  Seems like he tried harder to get the dance right, it was better than any of his other dances I think.  The second dance really looked like he was dancing more, I saw more moves that ever I think, but the booty shake was bad.  And his pants are pretty much the same color as his skin so that was weird.  He has soooo many tattoos, I wish I could see them.
Evan and Anna – So it takes a tiny little kid to give Evan a personality, it’s about time they find something to get him smiling.  The first dance was good; they looked like they were having a lot of fun.  In the second dance I thought that Evan’s solo was the best Solo of the night next to Nicole’s.  The way they ended it with some weird kiss or whatever was just weird though. 

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Decades of dance.

Chad and Cheryl’s Tango.  I’m not so sure they are good enough to stay in the competition but I want them to stay because I love their chemistry.  This dance didn’t seem to have that chemistry as much as the past, same with the rehearsals.  The dance was good, I didn’t see any big mistakes but it didn’t flow very well. 
Niecy and Louis’ Viennese Waltz.  Niecy looks so good, and looks like she’s having fun every week.  It’s got to be a ton of work and I can’t imagine going through that much work to make those dances look so good.  Louis makes a great partner for her.  She looks so graceful and I know how hard it is to push the extra weight around and try to look pretty and graceful, it’s not easy. 
Erin and Maks’ Argentine Tango.  Erin wouldn’t do a move because she said it looks like she’s humping a fire hydrant.  That was great! Funniest line I’ve heard in a long time.  Her legs are amazing. The jump turned out fantastic!  No wonder she was scared to do it though, jump from the stage to Maks’s shoulder like that, I’d be terrified.  The dance seemed super short to me though. 
Evan and Anna’s Waltz.  Evan has to try to be warm this week, not so cold.  The dance was warm and friendly.  He did ok, but and the dance was good but it just didn’t make me go “wow”.
Nicole and Derek’s Foxtrot.  Nicole got really stressed in rehearsals about how well she was doing but it sure didn’t show in the performance.  She is so amazing.  I just love how creative and beautiful their dances are.  Her facial expressions are great too, and I think that’s part of what makes her dances so good.  They did have a lift, which must be allowed because Carrie Ann, the lift police didn’t say a word about it. 
The crazy robot/alien dance thing that was done in the middle was pretty much too weird for me.  Just not feeling it. 
Chad and Chery’s 60’s Jive.  At some points I was really entertained, and then some of it was a little dull.  Good dance though. Hello 8 pack though.  That’s almost more exciting than Maks dancing with his shirt off. 
Niecy and Louis’ 90’s Paso Doble.  Louis looked right in his element.  Definitely not my favorite dance from Niecy though.  I won’t be surprised if this is the week that Niecy goes home. 
Erin and Maks 80’s Rumba.  OOOH poor Erin, tall and skinny with her beautiful long arms.  Are you serious? Hm.  I saw some definite wow moments in that dance.  I think it was my favorite of theirs.  Till Erin missed a couple steps in the middle and then lost her shoe. 
Evan and Anna’s futuristic Cha Cha.  I think it’s funny how stereotypically the future is somehow so different from now.  Like the ladies are wearing skimpy weird outfits and they move all robotic.  It’s just silly, at one point the 2000’s were portrayed the same way.  I thought the dance was so fun though. I usually don’t like this kind of thing but it was pretty fun. 
Nicole and Derek’s 50’s Paso Doble.  Perfect as always.  Couldn’t keep my eyes off them. 

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Team Madonna vs Team Gaga




Erin and Maks did the Quick Step this week and it was great! I thought the costume shift in the beginning was very cute and didn't at all hurt the performance. Seeing Maks dance around in a pink suit was pretty interesting. I did see Erin mess up a little in the very beginning, looked like she wasn't sure what to do with her hands. Len didn't make any comments about Maks taking off his clothes and in fact he praised them for the dance.
Ochocinco and Cheryl danced the Viennese Waltz. They had Tony come in to help him in rehearsal and somehow related the moves to football. The dance flowed beautifully and his foot work looked perfect. I think he has improved so much. Bruno called him a gentle giant. Carrie Ann said there is nothing sexier than watching a man be "tender". Ok that comment did make me laugh. The dance was great though. Chad is giving Cheryl more gifts. Cheryl is still denying that there is anything going on with them, but judging Chad's expression whenever she says something like that, I'm guessing that's not true. They are so cute together! Have I told you all how much I'd love to see them together? Well I think they should dance together forever.
Nicole and Derek danced the Waltz. She looked just beautiful again this week. Seeing her like that makes it hard to imagine that she's a Pussycat Doll. That dance was fantastic. Carrie Ann said that she is the best dancer they have ever had on the show. I'm not exactly sure what Len was suggesting by her visiting his trailer, but don't think it was to take a look at his tie collection.
Pamela and Damian danced the Waltz. I'm so thankful to see Pam's hair looking beautiful and sleek this week. They danced really well, looks like tying their waist's together during rehearsals did help them.
Nicey and Louis did the Quick Step. Nicey danced so well! She kept up with Louis and looked great. The judges said she did great and looked really good too.
Evan and Anna danced the Argentine Tango. I didn't see much that stood out to me about Evan's choreography. Anna looked amazing though and I may have just not been able to pay any attention to Evan because I couldn't take my eyes off her. They got the first perfect score of the season.
The team Gaga Cha Cha, my favorite couples – Pam and Damian, Nicole and Derek, and Chad and Cheryl. I don't know what the problem was exactly with Pam and Damian's solo, but I think Pam's damn hair was the way. Chad and Cheryl's seemed much shorter than Pam and Damian's. Nicole and Derek looked awesome as always. The way they ended the dance was great. The timing was so good. They were so in sync and looked amazing, much better than the beginning.

The team Madonna Cha Cha – Anna and Evan, Erin and Maks, and Niecy and Louis. It looked like they did more messing around than rehearsing. In practice Evan looked terrible; his solo was ok, but not great. Niecy looked like she was having a great time in their solo but she kept messing up. Erin and Maks was my favorite solo. The way they ended was good too but not as strong as Team Gaga. Go Niecy for rocking the dirty girl corset and tights though.