Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Semi-finals

Brandy and Maks (Pasodoble) – Did you know “pasodoble” means “double step”?  The dance was really good. I don’t know why but I was a little bored with it.  Everything looked great and technically their moves were awesome!  (Argentine Tango) – I loved this dance.  I thought she danced it perfectly and I loved the clothes!  That might be my favorite dance of the night – well, so far. 
Jennifer and Derek (Cha Cha Cha) – Mercy by Duffy is one of my favorite songs.  I thought their dance was so cute and so fun.  Every move was right on and it flowed perfectly!  Bruno’s reaction was the best!  It’s so hard to believe that she was 27 when she was in Dirty Dancing.  She looked so young!  (Waltz) – Second dance was just as good as the first.  So beautiful and just perfect. 
Bristol and Mark (Pasodoble) – Bristol’s best dance ever!!!! She looked hot and she danced so well.  There was a couple times where I felt like her counting was a bit off but just barely!  She’s finally coming onto the dance floor and putting everything she’s got into it.  I do think she’s made it as far as she has because of who her mom is, but she’s also working hard to stay in the competition too.  (Waltz) – I was wowed by Bristol this week in both dances.  She really has come a long way. 
Kyle and Lacey (Samba) – Kyle has also been getting better but I’m thinking it’ll be him to go this week, it’ll either be him or Bristol and after Bristol’s amazing performance I’m really thinking it’s going to be Kyle to go.  His dance was great, no doubt but one of them has got to go this week.   Kyle, the Bionic Bumm…. More bounce to the ounce.  I can’t believe I heard that out of Len’s mouth.  (Argentine Tango) – I thought the beginning of the dance there was too much of Lacey dancing around him and he was just standing there but then it really picked up and I thought he did really well.  I loved all the dances this week and I’m very excited for the finals next week, although not really excited for my favorite show to end for the season.

Results

I am really glad we got to relive Bruno's rendition of Mercy.  It's so entertaining.
The Stars of Dance dance was so cute! I don't think I've ever seen Derek and Cheryl dance together but it was really cute.  I love that car! I thought it was funny the licence plate said DWTS III, I don't know why III but it was cute.
I didn't realize who Annie Lenox was until she sang that song "Little Bird", I love that song.  way old school.
Ok does anyone else think that the reason Bristol has opened up to Mark a little more because they are hooking up.  What's with the "I love you" "I love you too".  I mean I see pros treat their stars like they are their spouse all the time but "I love you"....
So I'm sure I wasn't alone in my thinking in those last few minutes thinking "oh how sad that Bristol is going home".  I think even Bristol was thinking "how sad, I'm going home".  and then...... Brandy and Maks get announced as going home.  This season was not at all what I thought it was going to be.  The people who keep getting voted off is just so unpredictable.  I think everyone was really surprised by this results show.

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Instant Dance week.

Kyle and Lacey (Viennese waltz) – I’m shocked that Kyle has made it this far but he’s done pretty good.  I saw a couple missed steps in the beginning, but other than his feet, he did great.  He’s gotten a lot better with the serious dances.  (Jive) - Good Golly Miss Molly is the song chosen for their instant dance.  Did Kyle wear the same jacket as he did last week for this dance?  It’s very similar.  I don’t think I would have known that they didn’t have their song till tonight except for at the very beginning it seemed like Kyle was going to start moving a little too quick. 
Jennifer and Derek (Quick step) – I am sure the she must have had some intense treatment to be able to dance on her injured knee.  She moved so beautifully and every step was just fantastic.  I wouldn’t have even known that she was in so much pain during rehearsals.  (Rumba) - Waiting for a Girl like You is their instant dance song.  They danced so awesome!!!! I couldn’t believe how amazing it was.  They were so into it and it was beautiful!  
Kurt and Anna (Waltz) – I think their dance was good.  Kurt is really getting a lot better.  He’s just so lovely.  The judges seem to be pretty pleased with him too.  (Cha Cha Cha) - Hella Good is their instant dance song.  They seem really confused about that song.  That looked a little awkward for him at times but he definitely had fun with it and I give him an “a” for effort. 
Bristol and Mark (Argentine Tango) – As far as the argentine tango goes, she did ok.  She’s still gotten so much better each week and it was good, her legs were a little slow is all.  Not as far as step by step but as far as the flicks.  Marks legs swing so fast and then hers seem to have a weight tied to the toe.  (Samba) - Their instant dance song is Mas Que Nada.  Mark couldn’t even say it, so this should be good.  I don’t think it looked good for her that Mark was shaking so much more than her right at that beginning of the dance and then he seemed to have more energy than her through the whole thing.  She took a few steps backward with this dance I think.  She knew the steps but just didn’t have the energy.   
Brandy and Maks (Waltz) – The dance was so flowing and beautiful.  I didn’t know Brandy had a daughter.  In fact I was sure she didn’t have kids.  Weird.  (Cha Cha Cha) - They picked Teenage Dream for their instant dance.  The dance was really great, not as great at Derek and Jennifer’s but it was pretty amazing too! I did love the booty shakes. I think Carrie Ann made a great point about them wasting so much time waiting for the music to start.  Maks definitely dislikes being told there is something wrong with his choreography.  He did not take that well at all.  Much like when I tell my husband I’m going to call Dell for help with my laptop…..

Results
Dancecenter is so funny!
The live performances were good.
Children are so cute.  Dancing children, even cuter.  A piano playing, child prodigy is like a little piece of heaven! 10 years from now those kids could be pros on the show!
When John Legend was singing Ordinary People, the girl dancing with Mark is Jeanene from So You Think You Can Dance a few years ago.  I hope they bring her on the show! Why not?  Chelsea and Lacey were both on SYTYCD.
I don't think I'm really surprised that Kurt got voted off, but I would have rather he didn't.  I like him! It's going to be really interesting to see who makes it into the finals.  I'm thinking either Bristol or Kyle will be going home next week but the way this season has gone, anything could happen.  
  

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

200th Episode!

I am trying to edit pictures while I’m watching this week’s episode so I may not be able to write much about what I’m seeing.  I might just do random thoughts this week.
When I was watching the team dances I definitely liked Kristi’s team better.  The solos were better and it was more entertaining, but still both teams were very good!  Jennifer Gray didn’t do very well, she was moving kind of slow.  I fear she is getting worn out and Brandy is passing her up.  Sadly, her age may lose her the trophy. 
Kyle and Lacey – (Mel B and Maks, Paso Doble)  I laughed out loud for sure when Kyle showed up with dressed like Maks, abs and all.  Kyle is definitely a funny kid.  The dance was so good, and really I didn’t expect him to make it this far but really, he does get better and better each week. 
Kurt and Anna - (Emmit and Cheryl , Tango)  I think Kurt has hit a plateau with his dancing, I haven’t really seen any improvement with his dancing in the last few weeks.  I liked the dance but it’s beginning to look like he’s not going to make it much longer.  The judges said it looked a lot better, but I just didn’t see it and I’m pretty biased. 
Bristol and Mark - (Kelly and Louis, Viennese Waltz)  Kelly Osbourne is looking so beautiful!  Bristol seems to be getting a little more comfortable with Mark.  The dance was so pretty, and she did alright, but I felt like she could do better.
Rick and Cheryl - (Helio and Juliane, Quick Step)  So Helio got called “Banana Man” for dressing in a yellow suit, is Len going to call Rick “Pickle Man” for dressing in a green suit?  Their dance was entertaining, but I didn’t think he was doing all the steps right in some parts, but it might have just been the camera angle, since the judges didn’t say anything about it.  They opted for calling him the Jolly Green Giant, which is very fitting considering Rick’s size. 
Brandy and Maks - (Gilles and Cheryl, Fox Trot)  I liked Brandy’s dress a lot more than Cheryl’s in this dance.  Their dance was flawless!  She is really getting better and better and that dance was so good!
Jennifer and Derek - (Drew and Cheryl, Tango)  She did so much better this week than last week and even after seeing her dance the team dance at the beginning of the show she still did much better with the tango.  Her feet were perfect.  I was scared for her to begin with, that she wasn’t going to do that dance justice because Drew and Cheryl got a perfect score on it, but they did really good.