Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Season 11, week 1.

























I’m really excited to see Corky Ballas back!  I really keep hoping that they will put actual big time stars on the show again, but there is a few that have been pretty big in their day.  Brandy was once a very popular singer.  David Hasselhoff and Michael Bolton were big icons 20 years ago.  Jennifer Grey stared in possibly the best movie of all time.  Florence Henderson was the most popular mom on the block. quite a few of the younger DWTS fans probably know who Kyle Massey is.  Not just one but 2 guys for the sports fans out there.  We didn't get a politician but we got a politician's daughter.  A couple of stupid reality show stars that I could have done without.  And then there's MCho.  Seems like a great variety.  

Aurdrina Patridge – Not her biggest fan so far.  It’s not that her dancing isn’t great; she seems like she’ll do really well in the competition, I just don’t really like her personality.  I was surprised that they started the dance out with a solo.  They don’t usually do that till later in the competition.   She definitely seems to have the confidence.   It’s good to hear that she’s putting her partying on the back burner while participating in DWTS….
Kurt Warner – I was actually very surprised at how well this guy did.  I don’t follow football much and I had never heard of him.  At first when they were showing the rehearsals I was thinking “how long ago was this guy a football player?” but then he really surprised me at how well he danced.  This is only the first week and he did awesome.  Len of course was hard on him, but hey, it’s only week one and if he’s already doing this good, I’m betting he’ll make it pretty far in the competition.  I hope he doesn’t end up being one of those people whose best dance is the first week and then they can never get any better though. 
Kyle Massey – I do not like Lacey as a blonde.  I thought it was funny that she asked him if he was staring at her boobs in rehearsals, when she was wearing a very low cut shirt, bouncing in front of a teenage boy, go figure.  As far as his dance goes, I thought he really did well.  He moved pretty fast and his steps seemed to be great. 
Rick Fox – This pair doesn’t seem possible.  I only give this pair a couple weeks before Cheryl is yelling at him to get shorter.  Rick is so tall and it didn’t seem to be a problem during this dance but I just can’t see it continuing to not be a problem. 
Margaret Cho – She’s self conscious about looking fat on the dance floor and they were so kind to put her in a super tight costume that allowed her midsection to poke out like a lovely spare tire.  I am not sure if they intended for it to be a comedy skit but the moment the cape got wrapped around her face and didn’t come down when it was supposed to, oh wait – they planned that.  Dumb move.  I thought she was doing alright before that and I don’t like when the comedian adds comedy to a dance where it’s not appropriate.  Maybe if it was a jive or something that is different, but not on a dance where she’s supposed to look elegant… it just didn’t work.  I do agree with her that the cape thing is just silly, it no doubt makes you want to do something silly, but somehow others manage to just not.
Brandy – I don’t have anything bad to say about her dance. I thought it was great and I do expect her to make it pretty far.  She was so pretty too, and she looked classy.  I like this pair a lot. 
Bristol Palin – She’s surprisingly shy.  That girl has one facial expression, big grin.  Her performance was more of what I expect in the first week.  It was ok, and she has work to do, but that’s how it should be in week one.  I hope she makes it at least a few weeks and I hope she gets better. 
Florence Henderson – There’s another fun old lady to make us laugh.  The big difference between her and Clorris is that Florence actually wants to dance.  It seems like she is trying to get the steps and wants to dance the best she can.  I love that she’s been paired with Corky; I think he’s pretty much the only one who can make these silly old ladies look good. 
Michael Bolton – After seeing his terrible posture during rehearsals I thought he was doomed but he did have better posture during the show.  So far he’s not a great dancer but he could definitely get better.
Mike (The situation) Sorrentino – Seems like this experience is a humbling one for him.  I do not like his attitude at all.  I think maybe he could have been better if he would have had a few more days like everyone else.  So far I wouldn’t be surprised if he is the one to go this week. 
Jennifer Grey – I’m not at all surprised at how well she did.  This is really the only one on the show who actually has ballroom experience.  Maybe it was just for a movie, but still you know she had to train and that she really did have to learn all the steps and work at it.  I am really excited to see how she does next week and with other styles of dance too. 
David Hasselhoff – I think he was channeling Ozzy Osbourne during rehearsals.  There were a lot of parts where he was really off and him and Kym were not in sync, but he did alright for week one.  Len: “it’s never too early to panic”.  Ahhaha.  About Kym…. She was looking a lot like Pam Anderson this week, what’s up with that?  Something that makes me laugh about David Hasselhoff is that he still thinks he’s the same hottie as he was when he was younger, which makes him a little unattractive to me.  At least he recognizes that his body is old.


The results
I hadn’t realized how tiny Corky Ballas was until he was dancing next to Tony and Maks.  I loved that opening dance that the pros did to Santana.
Adam Corolla is not my kind of comedy but a couple of the jokes in his little skit were pretty funny.  Like how the Waltz is from the 16th century and then he shows a picture of Len with a wig. 
I didn’t recognize the 2 couples that danced while Daughtry was singing, I must have missed them being announced, but they did great. 
India Arie has such a beautiful voice and her combined with Santana was just amazing.  Santana’s music is made to Rumba to, Karina and Louis were beautiful dancing together.  Daughtry and Santana sounded good but I don’t think they should use cameras in the direction that just picks up the light on the stage.  Then I can’t get full quality on my computer so it’s all pixilated and can’t keep up with how quickly things are moving so I pretty much have no idea who was dancing.  That sucked.    
I think it’s pretty funny that Jennifer Grey called Cho “divine”, Jennifer, no, you are divine!  Florence would ask if she can touch the situation.  Not surprised at all.  I think it’s pretty funny that they play football and chit chat and stuff.  A lot of times we just see the show and don’t really think about how they hang out with each other during the week and get to know each other. 
I am shocked at how hard the pros take being eliminated.  I had no idea they were so nervous.  They play it off well.  It’s not like they can help it.  Some of them are paired with terrible stars, that couldn’t dance to save their life and some of them get Nicole Scherzinger. 
While the bottom two are on stage I was thinking it’s has got to be Kyle going home, just based on popularity.  But I was wrong.  I guess all those Disney fans were on the phones last night.  I’m not as sad to see David Hasselhoff go as that Kym won’t be in the competition anymore.  I think she’s so sweet and I just love her accent.  Did all you, readers, know that she is also on Dancing With The Stars in Australia?  She sure is.  She’s pretty fantastic. 

No comments:

Post a Comment